1006 Ben Lake Road East
Holy Manger Anglican Church
Lot 16, Concession 11, Barkway
Day and Night Star Quilt Square
This church was originally a Methodist church and was built in 1890. On May 4, 1964 title was registered as being purchased for $600. by the Society of Saint John the Evangelist (SSJE) from Harold Cooper, William Goheen and Ray Brunson as trustees of the Barkway Methodist Church. The Cowley Fathers of the SSJE who resided in Bracebridge, Ontario had begun their work in the remote community of Lewisham, and were continuing their services here in Barkway. Today Lewisham is a ghost town.
The original Church of the Holy Manger of Barkway had its beginnings from a re-constructed hewn pine log building that had been a homestead, hay barn and a sheepfold. (This building is now gone. It was located as a church at Barkway and Seehaver Roads.) With this background it was appropriate that the church including the present day one, would be called Holy Manger. The name of the small church at Barkway is unique as is the altar which is in the shape of a manger.
On January 26, 1965 title was transferred from the Society of Saint John the Evangelist to the Incorporated Synod of the Diocese of Algoma (Anglican) for $ 1.00.
Holy Manger Anglican church is continuing today now under the mission church of St. James Church, Gravenhurst. Services are the first and third Sunday of each month during the summer months and the first Sunday of the month during the winter.